A Trilogy: Mara Dyer

I decided to start my 2015 Reading Challenge with the easiest item I could tick off the list: a trilogy. It was the easiest for me because I have been in love with long reads since Harry Potter. As for the selected subject, I picked Michelle Hodkin‘s Mara Dyer Trilogy because it had been in my to-read list since mid-2014, and Ms. Hodkin’s having a book signing event tomorrow so I had to read the books first before deciding on going.

The Story:

Mara Dyer woke up in a hospital bed with no recollection of the tragic accident that brought her there and caused the death of her closest friends. To recover from shock and start a new life, their family decided to move from Rhode Island to Miami where she continued her education and met Noah Shaw, an enigmatic guy with a dangerous reputation. As she became more attracted to Noah, hallucinations, nightmares, flashbacks of the tragedy, and the faces of her deceased friends started to haunt her until she came to realize the hard truth–she could kill people with her mind, and she was responsible for their deaths.

My Ratings:

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – 3 stars 

It was a quick read and I couldn’t put it down. The reason for my neutral rating is that I didn’t hate it, but I did not love it either. It may be because when I started it, I was hoping or thinking that Mara’s story would purely be a psychological case, without anything supernatural. Learning that she possessed some dark magic was a bit of a disappointment for me. Or maybe I’ve just read a lot of fantasy stories the past days and I was hoping for something different.

My Favorite Line: “I will hurt for you and because of you and be grateful for the pain.”

The Evolution of Mara Dyer – 4 stars

So after letting the fact that I was reading something paranormal and supernatural and psychological sink in, I began to enjoy the second. I liked the fact that it was darker, crazier, and more disturbing than the first book. I would be lying if I say that I did not have trouble sleeping while reading it. It was that disturbing. I became more confused about what was really happening with Mara as the story progressed, and the ending left me with more questions than answers.

My Favorite Line: “You will love him to ruins.”

The Retribution of Mara Dyer –  4 stars

It was with this final book that I fell in love with Michelle Hodkin’s writing. The approach she used in telling Mara’s story was unique, and I specifically loved the shifting point of views just before the epilogue. I think this is the first time that I wished for the protagonist to die in the end. It’s not that I hate Mara, I just felt so bad and sorry for her that I felt the only solution to her problem was for her to die. Or maybe I’ve just read so much of her mind that her way of thinking rubbed of on me. Compliments to the author.

My Favorite Line: “This is a love story. Twisted and messy. Flawed and screwed up. But it’s ours.”

Overall Rating – 4 stars

It was an exciting and thought-provoking read and I highly recommend this for readers who are looking for something mysterious and dark, with the right amount of romance.

Leave a Reply

