Small, but not invisible

electric_universe___mind_of_god_by_askoliimatainen-d5dwcco

Aside from the books I’ve listed for my existing 2015 Reading Challenge (of which 95% is fiction), I decided to add finishing the entire Bible in my to-do list this year. So as I follow my timeline, I’ll post my reflections here under the ‘Through the Bible’ category.

And so the journey begins:

Chapters covered: Genesis 1:1 – 3:24

Genesis 1 is an account of how the universe, and everything in it was created in six days. In Genesis 2, the first man, Adam, and the first woman, Eve, was introduced, and how they enjoyed God’s provision in the garden of Eden. Genesis 3 tells the story of how man has fallen into sin, and the consequences that followed, which we are all experiencing until now.

When I think of the vastness of the universe, I can’t help but feel small and insignificant, that I’m just a speck of dust out of the approximately 7.2 billion people in the entire world. There are times when I feel that nothing that I do or say would matter. That my actions can never really make an impact. But reading these chapters with fresh eyes made me realize this–that though I may be small and considered insignificant (statistically speaking), I am never invisible in God’s eyes. He could see my every move, hear my every heartbeat, and know my every thought. (He’s actually watching as I’m typing this post right now.) And He knows every intent that I have in my heart, the good and the bad.

That is why it is important to be conscious of God’s presence in our lives. We must never feel that we are alone for He is always with us. In the same way, we must live our lives in a manner that pleases Him, for every wrongdoing has a consequence attached to it.

Leave a Reply

