Never again

972901-mar19_rainbow

Chapters covered: Genesis 7:1 – 9:29

Then Noah built an altar to the Lord, taking some of all the clean animals and clean birds, he sacrificed burnt offerings on it. The Lord smelled the pleasing aroma and said in his heart:”Never again will I curse the ground because of humans, even though every inclination of the human heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done.” – Genesis 8:21

I establish my covenant with you: Never again will all life be destroyed by the waters of a flood; never again will there be a flood to destroy the earth. – Genesis 9:11

I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. – Genesis 9:15

The phrase ‘never again’ was repeated in these chapters several times, emphasizing the truth and sincerity of God’s promise to Noah and the generations to come. It is amazing to know that we have a God who remembers and keeps His promises. Our family, friends, and ‘heroes’ may fail us, but we are assured that the Lord never will. He knows every promise He has made, and He intends to keep all of them, for our sake.

As I re-read Genesis 8:21, I realized that God did not make this covenant out of nowhere, or just because He wanted to. He made this promise because he saw Noah’s offering, and it touched His heart. This is why for me, I consider pleasing God in our lives a prerequisite to experiencing the fruits and proofs of His promises.

Leave a Reply

