Intervention

babel

Chapters covered: Genesis 10:1 – 11:26; 1 Chronicles 1:5-27

These passages speak of the clans of the sons of Noah (Shem, Ham, and Japheth) according to their lines of descent, up to Abram.  And squeezed in between these verses is a story about a certain city that the people during those times started building (The Tower of Babel — Genesis 11:1-8). Personally, I prefer calling it the story of God’s intervention.

As I was reading this story, I found myself asking a lot of why’s, and then trying to answer each one of them by reading and reading the verses multiple times. It went like this:

Q: Why did God confuse their language?
A: So they will not understand each other?
Q: Why didn’t God want them to understand each other?
A: Because if they understand each other, nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them, just like the tower they were building.
Q: Why can’t God allow them to do be successful in everything they’re doing?
A: Because their motive was wrong. They wanted the city to reach the heavens, so they could make a name for themselves.

As I arrived at this conclusion, I was reminded of my experiences from the past year. It was the year when I thought I was good enough to make a name for myself. So after finishing graduate school, I spent most of my money putting up businesses that involved things/activities that I wasn’t really passionate about, but because I thought I was good enough, I took the plunge anyway. And guess what. None of them worked out, and until now I’m still suffering from the consequences, financially.

It was a really low moment for me, but in my heart I believed in one thing–that it was God making an intervention in my life. He knew that the motives of my heart were not aligned with His plans and purposes in my life, and that’s why He didn’t allow those business attempts to prosper. Without realizing it, I was building my own Tower of Babel.

Humbled as I am, I thank the Lord for interventions like this, because through them I am reminded of how present God is in my life. He is constantly watching and patiently leading me to the road He originally intended for me to walk on.

Leave a Reply

