From riches to ruins

Chapters covered: Job 1:1 – 3:26ruins

“Does Job fear God for nothing? Have you not put a hedge around everything he has? You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land. But now stretch out your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face.” – Job 1:9-11

In a sense, I have identified my life with Job’s. Maybe I’m not as blameless and upright as he was (v.1), but being born in a Christian family, I’ve known and experienced the meaning of having a blessed life since I was young. I never had any reason to doubt the goodness of God, for He was able to provide everything I needed.

But as I became exposed to this thing called “freedom of choice,” I started to stray, little by little. I spent my time, thoughts, money, and passions on the things of this world, and it was only until I had nothing left that I realized how wrong those choices were.

I sincerely felt the grief in Job’s heart in chapter 3 because I also felt those emotions myself during those dark days. I questioned why I was born, lost my sense of purpose, and hid myself from the world. My heart got filled with anger and entertained vengeful thoughts towards those that wronged me. But then the Lord reminded me of these words:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” – Job 1:20

“Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?” – Job 2:10

The truth is, there is nothing in this world that I could really call mine. Every possession, my family and friends, the works of my hand… they all belong to the Lord. And so who was I to complain if they were taken away? God has given everything to me, and He could either give more, or take away some if He believes it would be for our own good.

The good news is, whenever we are faced with challenges and trials, we know that God is always watching us and cheering us on. Me He be as confident in our faith and integrity as He was with Job’s.

Leave a Reply

