Second Chance

Chapters Read: Genesis 31:1 – 35:29

“But Esau ran to meet Jacob and embraced him; he threw his arm around his neck and kissed him. And they wept.” – Genesis 33:4

What I liked most about Jacob’s story is that it is centered on forgiveness and second chances. He was born a deceiver, but the Lord was able to change his heart and humble him.

God had also placed a “Jacob” in my life, and that person had been the cause of my pain and struggles for a very long time. But by God’s grace I was able to stand and choose forgiveness and peace instead of plotting my revenge. And the Lord was faithful. He sustained me and made me realize that He has and is everything I need. He blessed me and never left my side, as He did with Esau.

The Lord had given Esau the strength to forgive and embrace his brother. Yes, at first he rebelled by marrying a Canaanite woman, but along the way God was able to heal his heart.

In the tale of Jacob and Esau I learned how God deals with each of us individually. That though we are far from perfect, we make bad decisions, and are more inclined to hate than forgive… He will always find a way to touch us, and remind us that He’s with us, willing to give us a second chance.

Leave a Reply

