Everything, Everything

Everything-Everything1-e1441301042528I think the start of the new year is a perfect time to revive old habits, like, for instance, writing a book review. I planned on reading 52 books for a reading challenge last year, and write a book review for each of them, but was unsuccessful. Was only able to read 36 titles, and write 10 reviews. Now I’m hoping that this year, my stats would improve 🙂

So I’m re-starting this habit with the first book that I’ve finished for the year: Nicola Yoon‘s Everything, Everything.

Why this book? I have to admit, it was the cover. That’s always been my weakness. Really lovely cover, right?

The Story: 

Diagnosed with Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID), Madeline Whittier was allergic to the world, and was not allowed to experience it. For her, the entire universe was their house, her mom, and her nurse, Carla. Her books became her only connection to what lies beyond her white walls, of which her favorite was Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s The Little Prince. She thought she was content with this kind of life until Olly arrived next door, and caught her staring at him.

My Rating: 3 stars

It was a beautiful story about love and hope. Of not giving up on your dreams. Of taking risks. I especially loved the illustrations (all drawn by David Yoon, the author’s husband), which helped me visualize and enjoy the story more. Though it was a story about a girl who’d been struggling from a disease, Nicola Yoon was able to write it in a light and humorous way, that’s why I didn’t really find it depressing.

However, I found the ending very convenient and too good to be true. Or maybe it’s just my mood 🙂

My main takeaway is that there’s beauty in taking risks. But personally, I believe everything must be done in moderation. This is where the author and I did not meet. Romantic love is not the only thing that’s important. We weren’t just born for romance. We are to love the people around us, especially those who have invested almost their entire lives in us, genuinely.

My favorite quotes: 

“My heart is too bruised and I want to keep the pain as a reminder. I don’t want sunlight on it. I don’t want it to heal. Because if it does, I might be tempted to use it again.”

“I promise you that I know my heart. It’s one of the few things that’s not completely new to me.”

“I may not be in love, but I’m in like. I’m in serious like.”

 

Leave a Reply

