Pause

People often think that pausing is a sign of weakness–an indication of reaching the end of your strength…of not having enough power and will to fight your battles. 

I don’t think that’s true all the time. 

In fact, I believe that every pause holds a certain power. That it is not a sign of weakness, but of strength. Because only strong people can admit to themselves that they need to take a break. So they can start again. They don’t work thoughtlessly until they’ve ran out of energy so they can just stop where they are. Rather, they pause so they can gather the strength and will to keep going. 

A pause is not a stop. It is not saying “I give up,” but saying “let me think of a way to get through this.” Yes, sometimes it would mean “I’m tired,” but it will never be too tired to say “I can no longer go on.”

A pause never says “I quit.”

So can HOPE pause, too? 

My answer is yes, as long as it desires to keep hoping. Because when HOPE stops, LOVE ends. And what valid reason do we have to stop loving?

Leave a comment